“Customer” Testimonial: Joe and Karen Snowden

My wife and I purchased a FSBO in the Fall of 2014.  This was my 3rd home purchase and the owner was a close family friend that flipped houses has a side job so we figured we would skip the real estate agent.  The price was agreed to and all that was left was the mortgage.

I am all about helping out friends.  I have a friend that is a Mortgage Broker.  He hooked me up with a loan company.  The company pre-approved us.  All that was left was the closing date.

Now, we did do a short sell on our main resident 2 years prior to this.  So after about a month of waiting around the loan company came back and said hey you have to take this credit course because of the Short Sale.  Okay so I took the credit course, waiting the required 4 weeks.  Another 2 weeks go by, in the meantime, Marletha (Big Sis to me), was monitoring the situation from afar.

She would ping us to check on the progress and asked – when is closing.  We would tell her the same thing – everything is fine and still waiting on the closing date.

Now patience isn’t her strong suit but if she needs to she can fake it J  After a while she pointed out that something was wrong.  The underwriter was taking way to long.  So I gave the loan company an ultimatum – you have 48 hours to give me a close date or I would take my business elsewhere.  They responded with a rejection letter.  I got on the phone with the lawyer and Big Sis sprang into action – we live in Delaware – she resides and is licensed in Virginia.  Even 2 states over, she managed to find a licensed loan officer willing to help us out.

Now, again, a family trait that we share is our loyalty and willingness to help out our friends.  The Mortgage Broker was a friend of mine so before I reached out to the person my sister found for me, I did give my friend one more chance to find me a loan.  Within 2 weeks, the wife and I were sitting at the closing table.

In the end, I did need a Real Estate Agent – I needed my Big Sis—Marletha Snowden Dyer.  When she gives you her word; she is there for you.  It is in her nature to protect and guide those around her.  I cannot recommend a better person for someone to trust with something as important as a real estate transaction.

To some degree I am bias but the reality is – if you need or want an agent that will but your interest and needs first, plus give you 100% honesty – I do highly recommend my Big Sister

Sincerely,

Joseph C Snowden

Leave a comment